Sony: The Same PS3 an Account Was Created on is Not Required When PSN Returns

PSN2

Sony has confirmed that you will not need to log into your PSN account on the PS3 that you created that account on only.

Earlier today, Sony held a press conference regarding the recent PlayStation Network hack, and provided several details on what steps will be taken from here on. One of the points that was mentioned by the translator was that the user’s PlayStation Network account password will need to be changed as soon as he or she logs into it once the network is back online. During this point, it was also mentioned that the password could only be changed “on the same PS3 the account was created or activated.” This can be heard around the 13:30 mark on the press conference video. The press release that was also uploaded during conference states:

Click on image to enlarge:

As an added layer of security, that password can only be changed on the same PS3 in which that account was activated, or through validated email confirmation, a critical step to help further protect customer data.

This has led many to believe that their accounts are lost, as a lot of users have been forced to buy a new PlayStation 3 due to hardware failures in the past. Sony Computer Entertainment Europe’s community moderators have confirmed that you do not need to log on to the PlayStation Network with the PS3 that you created your account on.

As long as your account is also activated on your current machine (i.e you have downloaded content to it previously) you should be okay.

So, as long as you didn’t deactivate your PlayStation Network account through account management, you will be able to log in and change your password.

SHARE THIS POST

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Myspace
  • Google Buzz
  • Reddit
  • Stumnleupon
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Technorati

20 Comments on "Sony: The Same PS3 an Account Was Created on is Not Required When PSN Returns"

  1. lol May 2, 2011 at 12:46 am - Reply

    lol

  2. Ih8hackerfaggots May 2, 2011 at 1:15 am - Reply

    if I lose anything from my download history due to some little bullshit like this Im gonna be fukin pissed

  3. CryMorePlease May 2, 2011 at 2:09 am - Reply

    Cry More Please, Apparently Sony requires more of your tears to lubricate the gears of their Welcome Back PSN Good Will Gesture.

    You tears are also welcomed when you start crying about the content offered by the Good Will gesture are not to your satisfaction. Those tears will be used to lubricate the stamps and envelopes that Sony will mail to your residence. Enclosed in the envelope will be a gift certificate which you can use to redeem a free Guy Fawkes (V for Vendetta) mask which you can in turn use to wear when you go to your local Sony Store to complain. Thank you for coming.

    • Mark May 2, 2011 at 12:26 pm - Reply

      Shut the fuck up.

      • yeah May 2, 2011 at 9:46 pm - Reply

        well said! LOL!

    • Doubt it May 3, 2011 at 12:10 am - Reply

      Grow up and get a life. Have some sympathy. This was not their fault. Would you like it if your company was loosing millions of dollars? No! I would to see what you would do in their position: ergo, shut the hell up.

    • Alex May 3, 2011 at 12:38 am - Reply

      PS3 SUCKS ! ANYMO HACKERZ ARE BEAST ! THEY ARE RIGHT IN WHAT THERE DOING FUCK THE PS3 SERVER

  4. jenisaie May 2, 2011 at 6:54 am - Reply

    hi.. does this mean all the ps3′s i owned at one time and forgot to de-activate my acct’s on .. will they still be on my list of 5 activated list?
    cause 4 of those ps3′s are no longer with me.. and i never had a chance to de-activate them…
    does this mean i have a clean slate? and only have the one on my activated list?

    • jenisaie [reply] by TylerM May 2, 2011 at 9:28 pm - Reply

      just call sony they will wipe all ur activations one time per account

  5. me May 2, 2011 at 9:09 am - Reply

    got aBox still not happy im 15th on .ops help

  6. Mark May 2, 2011 at 12:26 pm - Reply

    Seriously, I fucking had to read it like 3x.

  7. killanon May 2, 2011 at 7:10 pm - Reply

    nintendo SUCKS

  8. Justin May 2, 2011 at 7:59 pm - Reply

    What if I just bought a new ps3 while psn was down. Can I still get onto my account?

  9. Justin May 2, 2011 at 8:01 pm - Reply

    So What if I just bought a new ps3 while psn was down. Can I still get onto my account?

  10. Sloff May 3, 2011 at 12:59 am - Reply

    Microsoft must be thrilled that their only competition died in a heap of flames!

  11. tim May 3, 2011 at 8:28 am - Reply

    BOX BLOWS GOT BOTH SYSTEMZ PSN WAY BETTER

  12. fuckyousony123 May 3, 2011 at 12:45 pm - Reply

    Sony has reached it’s limit as I and too many ppl see

  13. hackerMURDERER666 May 5, 2011 at 6:38 pm - Reply

    FUCK YOU ALEX YOU INSIGNIFICANT PIECE OF SHIT

Leave A Response